Project Rearrange

“This is the day the Lord has made. We will rejoice and be glad in it.” – Psalms‬ ‭118:24‬ ‭

I thank God for touching the hearts of my children as they take the initiative to help organize our home.

Frustrated Homemaker

For the longest time, I have been wanting to put our home in order. With the demands of having a breastfeeding baby, my hands are full most of my waking hours.

I have the desire in my heart to do house chores — clean up, organize, do the laundry. My frustration gets worse every day that I see the mess and not the progress.

A Wonderful Surprise

After a week of working and tending to the baby, my fiancé and I decided to take a break from all the work and relax on Sunday night. We watched a movie in the room while we let the girls spend the rest of the night doing their thing.

After the movie, I went to check on the girls and to bid them goodnight. Busy packing the art materials she used for her school project, my second-born, Ocean, told me that she and her sister, Rainbow, packed away the toys that used to lay on the sofa and the floor.

I was very happy and blessed to see progress in the girls. Before, if I don’t tell them to help out, they wouldn’t even lift a finger. Now, even without me saying so or expecting anything, the girls contribute in making our home a better place to live in.

A Wonderful Surprise Part 2

This morning, I was awoken by my fiancé’s voice from outside our room. He kept saying, “Excuse me. Excuse me,” in a gentle voice. He was talking to our son who was trying to help him move the huge living room furniture.

He took the time to rearrange the common areas according to how I envisioned it to be. I wanted to move the living room on the other side of the open space. This way, we don’t get to disturb my parents, whose room is right below our living room, when my son copies the moves from the action movies he watches.

Asking the Lord for wisdom on how to rearrange our home, my fiancé and I shared ideas and worked together. Once the work was done, we were both happy and surprised with how spacious the new arrangement turned out.

Spacious and Cozy

The new living space is cozy and encourages bonding moments either by engaging in conversations or watching a movie as a family. The new formal dining area is spacious and also serves as a good place to have serious conversations.

The Lord is amazing! He has orchestrated today’s workload to be much lighter than we usually have. Truly, “This is the day the Lord has made. We will rejoice and be glad in it.

Leave a comment